Blogging Dead: The Walking Dead, Episode 310 ‘Home’

This blog contains heavy spoilers. Lori is back! Well, sort of. I actually loved seeing Sarah Wayne Callies again. In Rick’s vision of Lori, she looked better than she ever had on the show, and it was a touching image. Everybody copes in their own ways, and now that Rick has acknowledged these hallucinations I believe he is making progress. Now that the group is under attack, though, he’s going to have to work extra hard to keep it together. I hate to see Maggie and Glenn lashing out at each other. They barely escaped Woodbury with their lives with an impending war, and now they’re at odds. I guess they’re coping with her sexual assault in different ways, but I’m sure they will work it out. This episode developed the Dixon brothers and their relationship incredibly well. The scene where Daryl and a reluctant Merle saving a passing family from walkers, and then Daryl saving said family’s belongings from Merle, told us a lot about both brothers. The reveal of how Merle and Daryl originally planned to pillage the group in season 1 served to show exactly how much Daryl has changed while Merle has remained the same. Obviously, I always liked Axel, and have been disappointed with his lack of screen time. This episode provided Axel with a lot more to do and say, including the humorous details behind his arrest. As with Carol, I’ve really begun to appreciate the twirly-mustached fellow, and I liked the optimism he brought to the show. He even managed to throw in another, “You follow me?” to Carol for good measure. With that said, I’m sure my cries could be heard miles away when our beloved Axel took a bullet through the brain. There will be no more following of Axel on the Walking Dead, and that fact brings a tear to my eye. At least his death was as graceful as could be. He died with a smile on his face, in the presence of a lady, content with where he was in life, with no pain, suffering or awareness of his death. We also know he won’t turn, and even in his passing, helped save Carol’s life. The angels will follow you up to that big prison in the sky, Axel. You’ll be missed! There wasn’t much time to grieve, though. The Governor had launched his assault and everyone was under fire. This really kept me on the edge of my seat, as with Axel gone, there was a very real possibility someone else would get hit. I was pulling for all of them, and thankfully they were all lucky enough to survive, even with a zombie version of the Trojan horse. It kicked ass to see the Dixons make it back to the prison, though I still can’t help but wonder how this will go down. Glenn and Michonne are not going to be thrilled, exactly. Merle has done some evil things, but does he have valuable information about the man attacking them? At a time when extra soldiers are badly needed, is it wise to turn him away? I really don’t know how this is going to go down, but I’m ecstatic to find out.

Leave a comment