Blogging Dead: The Walking Dead, Episode 308 ‘Made to Suffer’

Episode 308 of the Walking Dead proved to be a very gripping ride, even if it didn’t have the amount of main characters dying as I had originally predicted.  Of course, it’s simply a calm before a brutal storm as the war between Woodbury and the Ricktatorship commences.  And we didn’t escape completely unharmed, either, as our beloved Oscar perished in the wake of a massive gunfight.  I just still know the worst is yet to come.

Leaving on a nailbiting cliffhanger with Merle and Daryl pitted off against each other in the arena.  Not counting Daryl’s hallucination in the second season, this was actually the first time the brothers had seen each other in the entire series.  The wait is killing me as I metaphorically have been holding my breath since the episode’s conclusion.  I know Merle wants to prove his allegiance to the Governor, but as much of an asshole as Merle is, I am confident he will not want to kill Daryl.  If Andrea can’t interfere, I can see Merle trying to help Daryl escape, maybe even sacrificing himself in the process.

I am thrilled to see Tyreese make his debut on the show.  In the graphic novel series, Tyreese is one of the most badass characters, and he always looked intimidating as hell with his imposing figure and trademark hammer.  My initial impression of the TV version of the character is that he is not as physically scary as he is in the books, but has more of a friendly, approachable vibe.  That’s not to say I don’t like him, and it’s way too early to know how the character will be.  Friendly or scary, though, I love Tyreese, and I’m so glad he’s made his way to the show (complete with his signature claw hammer!).

Ever since reading the Rise of the Governor novel, which explores the backstory of the Governor and his daughter, I’ve developed a soft spot for Penny.  Such a likeable little girl in the book, her inevitable death was heart-wrenching.  It was great seeing her on the show, and I’m happy Michonne put her down.  I also applauded Michonne’s version of eye-removal surgery with a glass shard through the Governor’s socket, as the new eyepatch does paint him to look a lot more like the true villain he is.

It was also cool to see Shane again, even if he wasn’t as recognizable with Wolverine’s facial hair.  Axel calling Carol a lesbian was another high point of the show.  And how gnarly was that to see Maggie commit her first murder (of a human)?  Basically, it was an all-around kickass episode, but I’m on the edge of my seat waiting to see the next one!

Leave a comment